About Us

To know about our vision, Genesis, By Laws, Executive Council and Committees information, Please click the respective icons.


Know about society's vision.


Know how we evolved

By Laws

Society by-laws & amendments document.

Executive Council

Executive committee members


Various committees of MPFI


To provide a forum to share and discuss learnings, opportunities, and constraints (including regulatory issues) in enabling mobile payments in India.

To identify and advise the enablers for implementing mobile payment systems.

To create awareness among enablers/users through educational workshops.

To guide banks, telecom organizations, support service providers, government and others for providing mobile payments in an inter-operable and heterogeneous environment including the rural masses.

To take up commonly agreed upon initiatives on behalf of the members.


A One-day Workshop on Technologies for Mobile Banking Initiatives and Micro-payments with focus on rural areas sponsored by the Institute for Development and Research in Banking Technology (IDRBT), Hyderabad and TENET, IIT Madras was held on December 19, 2006 at IIT Madras wherein 28 participants including several Technology Providers as Microsoft, Unitus, mCheck, Mindmill Software, Lasersoft, FSS, First Data International, FINO, A Little world, Aaeltree and Venture Infotek took part, and discussed various technology issues and developments. An important outcome of this meeting was the need to create a forum on Mobile Banking, since it involves various entities and requires mutual co-ordination for its success. The Director of IDRBT has constituted a committee consisting of 3 faculty members of IDRBT on April 17th 2007 coordinated by Dr.V.N.Sastry for the Mobile Banking Forum. Subsequently the Governing Council of IDRBT in its meeting held on July 02nd 2007, advised IDRBT to take leading part in evolving standards for Mobile Payments in India.

A meeting was held on July 26, 2007 at IIT-Madras between the committees of IDRBT, Hyderabad and TENET, IIT Madras consisting of the following 8 members: Dr.Ashok Jhunjhunwala, Dr.V.N.Sastry, Dr.M.V.N.K.Prasad, Mr.Vikas Jhunjhunwala, Ms.Laxmi Vaidyanathan, Dr.Aaarti Karla, Mr.Umesh Sachdev and Mr.Ravi Saraogi. The brain storming deliberations during this meeting lead to the formation of a forum named Mobile Payment Forum of India with a mission to enable mobile payments in India with secure transactions at low cost through robust technology. The vision of the forum was initially set to achieve the following: (i) To provide a forum to share and discuss the leanings, opportunities and constraints (including regulatory issues) of enabling mobile payments in India, (ii) To identify and advise the enablers for implementing mobile payment systems, (iii) To create awareness among enablers and users through educational workshops, (iv) To guide Banks, telecom organizations, support service providers, financial institutions, government and others for providing mobile payments in an inter-operable and heterogeneous environment including the rural masses and (v) To take up commonly agreed upon initiatives on behalf of the members.

The Governing Council of IDRBT, Hyderabad has approved on August 9, 2007 the constitution of the Mobile Payment Forum of India with IDRBT as a founding Institution jointly with (RTBI) of IIT-Madras and supported initial secretariat at IDRBT. The first meeting of the Mobile Payment Forum of India (MPFI) was held on September 15, 2007 at IDRBT, Hyderabad wherein 50 members representing Banks, Telcos, Technology providers, RBI, IDRBT, Academic Institutions etc. participated. The Executive Committee was formed with Dr.Ashok Jhunjhunwala as Chairman, Dr.R.B.Barman as Co-Chairman, Dr.V.N.Sastry as Executive Secretary and 9 executive members. Three committees namely Regulatory Committee, Technology Committee and Business Committee respectively co-ordinated by Sri. Sachin Khandelwal, Sri. G.P.Shekar and Sri. Sanjay Bhargava was formed along with some members in each committee. It was decided during this meeting that Mobile Payment Forum of India would be registered as non-profit society with head quarters at Hyderabad.

The board of the Mobile Payment Forum of India (MPFI) consists of 15 members representing Banks, Telecom Operators, Technology Service Providers, Regulators (Reserve Bank of India & Telecom Regulatory Authority of India) and Government (MCIT). The Society has about 60 registered Institutional and Associate Members.

The Forum enables sharing of learnings and experiences, awareness creation, identifying common resources, resolving common issues and development of standards. It conducts research and marketing surveys, educational workshops and conferences, awarding mobile payment innovations and supports research activities in mobile payments. Periodic meetings of the committees and members feedback is an enabler for continuous persuasion to achieve the goals of the forum. MPFI works with international bodies for the development of secured and reliable mobile payment services for feasible integration with countries across the globe.

RTBI is a registered society established under the aegis of the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras and functions under the Chairmanship of Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, IIT Madras. RTBI's mission is to design, pilot and incubate business ventures with a specifically rural focus. Its vision is to facilitate rural-inclusive technology and business development in the country. Currently, RTBI is engaged in the following incubation sectors - Livelihood, Agriculture, Financial Inclusion, Vocational Training, Health, Education, and affordable Technology.

Institute for Development and Research in Banking Technology (IDRBT), Hyderabad is a premier autonomous Institution established by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) in 1996. The Governing Council of IDRBT has elite steering experts such as the Governor of RBI as Visitor, Deputy Governor of RBI as Chariman of IDRBT, Director of IDRBT as Secretary and other members include the Chairman of Indian Banks Association, Chairman of the State Bank of India, top academicians from IIT’s, IIM’s and leading national institutions. IDRBT conducts various academic programmes, specialized executive development programmes regularly for the top and middle level management of banks and financial institutions, customized programmes to meet the specific needs of the Industry and organizes various national and international conferences, workshops, seminars etc. related to Banking Technology Domain. The two year M.Tech.(IT) programme with specialization in Banking Technology and Information Security conducted since 2001 in collaboration with University of Hyderabad is a unique flagship programme of IDRBT approved by AICTE. IDRBT has produced several Ph.D. candidates through collaboration with University of Hyderabad, IIT- Bombay and leading Universities / Institutes. The focal areas of research in the Banking Technology domain cover Financial Networks, Network Technologies and Applications; Electronic Payments and Settlement Systems; Information Security and Security Technologies for the Financial Sector; Technology based Education, Training and Development; Financial Information Systems and Models, Business Intelligence and Risk Management. IDRBT is actively engaged in a number of Research Projects, aimed at developing the standards and systems of Banking Technology at the industry and national levels. The Ministry of Information Technology, Govt. of India sponsored project on “Protocols and Security Framework for Mobile Payment Systems” deserves special mention. Institute also provides Advisory and Consultancy Services to Banks, Financial Institutions and other leading Institutions on various Technology and Management related issues.

The URL is :